Concert Karma: 2 great shows in 2011

Earlier this summer, I invited my friend Tim and his girlfriend Sarah to join me at the Dispatch concert at the Greek Theatre in Berkeley. This is the story of good concert karma.

I had purchased 4 tickets for the concert in January. As the new year of 2011 began, I believed it was important to plan for at least one great concert during the year. When I made the purchase I had no idea who would be joining me at the show in June; I only knew that I was committed to going. I had seen Dispatch 10 years ago, during my freshman year of college when they played a small show at The Fillmore in San Francisco. The tour in 2001 was the last one that Dispatch would perform for 10 years.

June rolled around, and somehow, with just one day remaining before the show, I found myself in the interesting position of holding 3 unclaimed tickets. With one day remaining, I called my friend Tim to offer him the tickets. What’s interesting about my phone call to Tim was that Tim and I had not seen one another for almost over a year. We had been good friends during a period of time when we had worked together on a project, but we had lost contact. The Dispatch show was a perfect opportunity to reconnect. In retrospect, I wish I had thought to call Tim sooner to invite him to the show. I have always enjoyed hanging out with Tim. You can check out his weekly podcast, the BlankShowCast, on iTunes (yes, that was a shameless plug for my friend’s show.)

Tim called me back the morning of the show and confirmed that he and Sarah would meet me at The Greek that evening. It was an incredible show, and the encore performance was epic!

Now for the karmic scenario:

In August, I discovered Songkick, a cool new app for my iPhone. Songkick scans your iPhone’s playlist and notifies you when one of the artists in your playlists in scheduled to be on tour in your area. One of the app’s features allows you to indicate whether you plan to attend the shows of your favorite artists by checking a box (“I’m going” or “I might go.”) As I was playing with the app for my first time, I checked “I might go” to the Barenaked Ladies’ September 19th concert at the Mountain Winery. I checked the box although I took no action to make this a reality or even really gave it a second thought.

On the morning of September 19th, I was playing around with the Songkick app and I came across the box I had checked “I might be going” to the Barenaked Ladies concert. Well, clearly this was not going to happen since it was the day of the event and I had made no effort for the last month and a half to purchase tickets so I unchecked the box.

Later that evening — two and a half hours before the Barenaked Ladies were scheduled to take the stage at Mountain Winery — I received a text from my friend Steve; he was offering me 2 tickets for the show that he could not use. He left them pinned to his door for me to pickup.

What makes this event even more interesting is that I have never attended a concert at Mountain Winery and just the week before I had been talking with a friend who had recently taken his wife to see a show there and he was telling me about what a great venue it is. The outdoor stage is located at a winery up in the hills of Saratoga. It’s a small venue (seats only a couple of hundred people) and there is not a bad seat in the house. The intimate setting and the scenic winery landscape make it an ideal place to see a show. I have included some pictures that I took that evening at the end of this post.

Given the facts — I had given my friend Tim and Sarah tickets to the Dispatch show earlier in the year; I had checked the box “I might go” to the Barenaked Ladies concert in the Songkick app; and I had recently had a conversation with a friend about what a great venue the Mountain Winery is and that I should attend a show there — do you think the circumstance of me being offered free tickets to the Barenaked Ladies concert at the Mountain Winery, on the day of the event, was a mere coincidence, or did the universe conspire to provide me with some good concert karma?

Question for the readers:

Since my friend Steve was kind enough to offer me the tickets free of charge, what do you think would be an appropriate thank you gift to show my appreciation for his thinking to offer me the tickets?

Please leave me a comment with your thoughts. I look forward to hearing from you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Brian Mohr

Stanford Alumnus. Social Media Enthusiast. I enjoy meeting new people and learning about their passions. Visit me at www.BrianRobertMohr.com "Connecting the world, one person at a time."
This entry was posted in Adventures, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Concert Karma: 2 great shows in 2011

  1. Victor Schwenoha says:

    This is a great story. It goes to show the power of the law of attraction. And the writing was done so that the reader (me) was intrigued throughout.

    I would say tha, if Steve is a sports fan, tickets to a game would suit as an adequate gift. 🙂

    • Brian Mohr says:

      Victor – Thank you for your insightful comments and for being the first reader to leave a comment. I like your suggestion of tickets for a sporting event. Steve is a sports fan. When we last hung out we watched the Notre Dame v. Michigan game. Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. John Mohr says:

    I enjoyed the story and I definitely believe in Karma. I thought the story was well written and it captivated me. I would suggest sending Steve some wine to enjoy!!

  3. Mom says:

    Hey Bri,
    This is the third location I have explored to reply to from your blog. I guess you will read one or all of my replies eventually. I liked your story. Concert karma is obviously good karma. Keep the positive attitude and good things will happen. Think about what Steve likes and the answer will follow. The act of kindness goes a long way. Looks like you had a great time. Give thanks for the day and thanks to Steve, too.

  4. Kim says:

    Hi Brian! What a great 1st post on your blog….I enjoyed reading it and look forward to your upcoming posts! : )

  5. Brian Mohr says:

    Kim, thanks for reading my blog. More posts coming soon.

Leave a Reply

