The CD Time Machine

Can you recall which was the first CD you ever purchased?  I find that songs, artists, and albums can transport me back in time to memories associated with certain people, places, and events.

I first started getting into music around the time I was in 5th grade. It wasn’t until I was about 11 years old that I started to develop an interest in music, could identify certain songs by artist on the radio, and had a desire to start my own CD collection.

My first CD ever was the Spin Doctors’ album Pocket Full of Kryptonite.  It was a birthday gift from my friend Joe Azznara.  It was my first CD ever!  (I didn’t even have a CD player yet.)  Joe’s gift spurred my first steps down the path into the world of music.  That year a CD player appeared as the top item on my Christmas list.

That Christmas, along with a Panasonic 5-disc CD changer (that was big league! Thanks Santa!), I received my 2nd and 3rd CDs from my parents — soundtracks from The Lion King and Forrest Gump.

I’m lucky to have a January birthday.  With 3 CDs in my collection and my birthday within 30 days of Christmas, my twelfth birthday provided an excellent opportunity to continue building my collection.  My best friend Steve Conigliaro gave me Tom Petty’s Wildflower album.

My birthday party was held at an indoor roller skating rink with all of my 6th grade classmates invited.  It was a blast!  Also, most of the gifts I received were gift certificates to Sam Goody.  I invited Steve to join me on my Sam Goody shopping spree since I appreciated his taste in music and wanted his help in selecting the right albums to expand my collection.  Now, when you are 12 years old, and you have over $200 in gift certificates, you feel like a baller.

Here are some of the CDs I purchased that day:

  • Aerosmith – Get A Grip
  • Dave Matthews Band – Under The Table And Dreaming
  • Green Day – Dookie
  • Hootie & The Blowfish – Cracked Rear View (mistake! I know. Guilty. But I still kinda like Hold My Hand and Only Wanna Be With You)
  • Jimi Hendrix – Woodstock
  • Live – Throwing Copper
  • Nirvana – Unplugged In New York
  • Offspring – Smash
  • Pearl Jam – Vitology
  • Pink Floyd – Dark Side Of The Moon
  • Rush – Moving Pictures
  • Soundgarden – Superunknown
  • Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers – Greatest Hits
  • Woodstock ’94 (double disc)

With my twelfth birthday in 1995, most of the albums I purchased were from 1994. To this day I will contend that 1994 was one of the best years for music released to CD.

Please leave me your comments.  What CDs take you back in time?

I look forward to hearing from you.

About Brian Mohr

Stanford Alumnus. Social Media Enthusiast. I enjoy meeting new people and learning about their passions. Visit me at www.BrianRobertMohr.com "Connecting the world, one person at a time."
This entry was posted in Childhood, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

