Worlds Collide: Icebreakers, Common Friends, and Social Media

Last night I had a very interesting experience when social graphs intersected and an introduction between “strangers” took place in the real world. I found the coincidence of last night’s encounter to be hilarious, especially given the circumstances of events that had occurred earlier that day.

Earlier that day…

I was at a sports bar to watch the Stanford vs. Oregon State football game (Stanford won 38-13. Go Card!). The first half was nearing a close, and I was just finishing my chicken wings, when I received a Foursquare check-in notification on my iPhone saying that my friend Tommy Leep was watching the game at another sports bar just a few blocks a way. It had been quite some time since I had last seen Tommy, so I finished up my chicken wings and headed for the other bar. Thanks Foursquare!

It was nice to walk into a crowded bar and be able to look for a familiar face. I quickly found Tommy and asked if I could join him and his friends. I pulled up a stool, and joined a table filled with Cardinal fans, to watch the second half of the game.

It was fun catching up with Tommy while watching the game. Tommy has a love of startups and social media and we talked about which apps we like best. He gave me the recommendation to use Oink, the first app from Milk (Kevin Rose’s startup lab). He also told me that he uses Instagram, the popular photo-sharing social app. I had previously downloaded the app to my phone, and had even created an account, but have not used it very much.

Tommy also shared with me his own idea for a social media app that he and a buddy have in the pipeline for development. He has a great concept. It’s definitely an app that I will use. Expect big things from this guy!

Later that evening…

My friend Thomas Ferrick and I headed for Santana Row to meet up with our friend Mark Karake. I love going places with Mark because we always have a great time. Mark has a gift for engaging people in conversation, and we always end up meeting interesting people and making new friends wherever we go.

After a while, Mark walked over to a group of people standing near us and struck up a conversation. A couple of minutes later, Mark waved Thomas and me over to introduce us to some new friends. I had a lively conversation with Kristen about her experiences teaching preschoolers. I shared with her that I had been a camp counselor for the Munchkins (ages 3 and 4) and had taken a few child development courses as part of my psychology major. She asked where I had gone to school. When I replied Stanford, she asked me if I knew…wait for it…Tommy Leep!

I replied that I had just spent some time with Tommy that very afternoon. Tommy had also been a camp counselor for the Yahoos (ages 9 and 10) that same summer that I had worked with the Munchkins. I asked, how she knew Tommy… “I’m his sister,” she replied. My jaw nearly hit the floor. Hilarious!!!

We took a picture together and sent it to Tommy via text message. We also posted the photo to Instagram.

Instagram

Look Who We Found!!!

That evening I also met Kristen’s friend Cristie. During our conversation, they shared that they were excited about an event taking place next Friday (11/11/11) called Nerd New Year. Another coincidence — I had just bought my tickets to the event that afternoon using Groupon.

Nerd New Year, Groupon

I’m definitely looking forward to Nerd New Year next Friday, especially now that I will be going to the event with some new friends.

Me, Cristie and Kristen

Stay tuned for an upcoming post about Nerd New Year…

Comments – I’d love to hear from you!

About Brian Mohr

Stanford Alumnus. Social Media Enthusiast. I enjoy meeting new people and learning about their passions. Visit me at www.BrianRobertMohr.com "Connecting the world, one person at a time."
This entry was posted in Just for Fun, People Worth Knowing, Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Worlds Collide: Icebreakers, Common Friends, and Social Media

  1. Kristen says:

    I can’t get enough of that first picture. Ridiculous!

  2. Tommy Leep says:

    let this be a warning to the world. the leeps are everywhere.

Leave a Reply

