Movember Mania! A Global Cause.

I am typically a clean-shaven dude. It is only on rare occasion that I have grown some facial hair, and in the past, going unshaven was simply an act for my own selfish amusement. However, when I heard about Movember and the global effort to raise money for men’s health, I became inspired.

I had some initial reservations about joining the movement because my 10-year high school reunion is scheduled for the Thanksgiving weekend. Did I want to rock a moustache at an event where many pictures were going to be taken? Since I don’t typically have a moustache, did I want to capture this moment in time with a soup strainer on my face?

After some careful thought, I decided…Hell Yeah! I’m gonna rock a moustache at my reunion and spread the word about men’s health.

The Movember campaign has a fascinating history. It started in 2003 when a group of friends in Australia were drinking some beers and musing about the return of certain iconic trends. They decided that they could bring back the moustache. That November, 30 Mo Bro’s grew and groomed their moustache for the 30 days of November. Their facial hair was often a conversation starter and a source of amusement for others. In 2004, they decided to run the campaign again, but this time the group wanted to use their moustaches to bring awareness to a global cause. In just one year, the group had grown to 450 Mo Bros and Mo Sistas and the movement raised $54,000 for the Australian Prostate Cancer Foundation. In 2010, there were 447,808 global participants who helped raise $80.7M.

If you want more of the story, you can visit the official Movember website here.

If you would like to make a donation to the cause, you can make a difference at: http://mobro.co/BrianRobertMohr

Let’s raise some money for men’s health. I’ll drink to that!

Comments – I’d love to hear from you!

Are you participating in Movember? If not, will you consider joining the global effort next year?

About Brian Mohr

Stanford Alumnus. Social Media Enthusiast. I enjoy meeting new people and learning about their passions. Visit me at www.BrianRobertMohr.com "Connecting the world, one person at a time."
This entry was posted in Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movember Mania! A Global Cause.

  1. Ben Wigler says:

    Brian, you were born to rock that ‘stache. You can take my word for it as the proprieter of a band named after facial hair. The Mohr stache is classic

Leave a Reply

